Gestures
2004-11-03 - 12:06 p.m.

There are some moments, while standing at a street corner, or in a poorly lit cafeteria of a hospital that you realize that sometimes, the cosmos just needs you. Needs you to be there, needs you to open your mouth, move your hands, assist this scatter brained, sticky world.

I was standing in front of the coke machine, looking for something in the form of diet since I started a half ass attempt at weight watchers last week. Giving up the temptation of cherry coke in lue of diet vanilla coke is hard, and I was glad that an elderly woman in front of me was taking forever because it gave me time to work up the will power to push D5 instead of A6.
I watched her lean in towards the glass, peering for a moment, backing up again, her thick, paper skin covered fingers shakily pushing one number after another until she had a small collection of plastic one liters.
It took me a moment to realize she was having a hard time seeing what she wanted.
"Oh you have such a beautiful baby!" she cooed, as she turned, realizing I was behind her.
Caleb had just received his immunizations, and after a fit of protest, was seized by his afternoon nap in his umbrella stroller.
"Thank you," I smiled.

She went on about her grandson, and how she really should be drinking diet because of her health. I looked over at the table and noted 1 sprite, 1 coke and 1 root beer.
"I'm just so thirsty all the time, but I am not supposed to drink regular...I wonder if they have diet..."

I nodded and pointed it out to her, and gently pushed in the numbers for her. Probably saving her 10 dollars more. I felt bad for her, standing there alone. I wondered when I might be like that, and would anyone realize I couldn't see the labels?

Later, a woman at the deli where I stopped by for dinner was feeling lost and confused, pushed forward by everyone behind her in line, looking for something as simple as a Chinese dinner. I gently explained all the entrees, and her round, tired face smiled in relief and thanks.

Small things, small reminders that sometimes you are needed.

Later that night, Amy, my best friend of 10 years called. I watched her number flash on the caller ID and almost didn't answer. It had been a long night and I was feeling dejected and exhaustion from the kids screaming that was still echoing my rattled brain.

I hit the talk button and gave her a cheery hello. After all, I do love the girl.

I was met by a strained, and obviously distressed voice. She quickly relayed to me that her friend Jaime (former partner in crime and drug activities, turned clean and going back to school and working full time though fighting major depression, friend) had attempted to kill herself that day, after unsuccessfully getting help from Kaiser Permanente. She took only half a bottle of Tylenol PM. After trying to vomit it back up, and failing, Jaime went into a coma.
Her liver, and kidneys died, and she has become swollen to twice her size. On life support, Amy is being forced to face her friend's mortality.
Because her liver had died, 21 year old Jaime is in need of a liver transplant. Her friends and family, pulled around the hospital bed, to learn that because Jaime had tried to kill herself, she is not eligible for an organ donation.

Amy was calling people in a frantic, begging them to write letters to the hospital, pleading for them to change their mind. A letter, to show that we think her life is worthy, and to please give her the chance to give it one more go. Second chance at life, for a misguided 20's something drug addict and alcoholic? I already know what the answer will be, but I carefully crafted my request to the universe, that another soul might not die for their actions. If only, to make Amy feel better.

Sometimes strangers need you, sometimes its your best friend. If even for the smallest gestures.

yesterday - tomorrow

design host image extras rings links gbook notes email profile older new